Oooh…what’s on TV?

Today’s prompt: What do you wish you had more time to do each day?

ooooooh…this is a hard prompt today. I have problems with procrastination, so time issues make me squirrelly and defensive. I’m not beyond introspection though!

I’m a chronic time waster. I’m not going to lie. There are times when I’m extremely productive and organized. I make my to-do list and feel very superior when I cross something off. On the other hand, there are times when one week’s to-do list becomes the base for the next week’s. I spend time avoiding doing the things I should. I have more than enough time to do things, so if things go undone, it’s not for lack of time. I get up at 6 every morning and I’m not even working full-time right now! What’s my problem anyway?

To-do list for Dec 6 (which started on Dec 2)

  • Do blog post
  • Take out recycling
  • Clean bathroom mirrors
  • Groceries
  • Vacuum
  • Paint nails
  • Laundry
  • Clean bathroom counters
  • Address Christmas cards
  • Mail out Christmas packages
  • Dishes

I read a book once that suggested that being disorganized is a mechanism to increase self-importance. Hmmm…they may be onto something there. Could it be if I leave things until the last minute, I’ll get a rush from ‘saving the day’? I don’t know, but it’s plausible. Maybe I’m looking for that feeling at the end of the day when “I have so many things to do!!!!!” and eventually get them all done and I sit on the couch thinking about how I pulled the rabbit out of the hat once again.

Over the past year, I have trained myself to do things regularly thereby shortening my to-do list, for example, making the bed and tidying the living room of Kidlet’s toys before going to bed. Why can’t I train myself to regularly scrub the tub or take out the paper recycling? I do have the potential to be one of those people with organized and put-together houses, meal plans and scheduled cleaning days, but I just fritter away the time. It.is.so.annoying.

I guess today, instead of saying what I wish I had more time to do every day, I’ll say, what I wish I was able to do every day. I wish I was able to be more productive EVERY DAY: get off my butt and take out the recycling, scrub the tub, wash the car, do my filing. Don’t just waste my time playing Candy Crush or surfing Facebook or walking around the mall for hours window shopping.

Having written this article, I realize that I have blogged 5 days in a row, so maybe I’m on my way to reform! I just have to little by little add more things to my daily list of automatic tasks and before I know it I’ll be able to have the Queen over for dinner without notice and if that doesn’t make me feel self-important, I don’t know what will! 

Here’s to you being able to do the things today that you want to do!

V

PS. Do blog post

I'm participating BlogHer’s NaBloPoMo Challenge: 31 days, 31 blog posts

I’m participating BlogHer’s NaBloPoMo Challenge: 31 days, 31 blog posts

Please leave your $0.02

