The Low Road is where the fun is

I’ve had this discussion with my friends: why do I always have to take the High Road? Sometimes I want to take the Low Road for a change!

I’m a big follower of the “turn the other cheek” mentality. I try to ALWAYS be the bigger person. I’ve been wronged and taken advantage of and hurt more times than I’d like to remember, but I would always still my tongue to keep the peace. I don’t like to fight, even though I’m passionate and hold strong opinions. I prefer to debate – hear the other side – and if things get too heated, I’m the first one to agree to disagree (even though I know I’m right!)

The problem with that is that I get walked on a lot. Co-parenting is not easy, and it’s even harder when things are not amicable. I’ve had to concede many times over the years and have had mail sent to me on the High Road I’d been on it so much! Instead of the Other Parent (OP) being appreciative of the peace I’ve kept, OP has taken full advantage of my need for peace. After one of those times when I’ve given in on something I didn’t agree with to keep the peace, I thought, “Just once I want to take the Low Road and be a jerk!”

I then started to think about all the times I’ve taken the High Road in my life. It seems like for the most part, I’m the only one on here! Most people will go for the jugular to get what they want in any given moment. This fool (me) always looks at the big picture. Sigh. So just once, I want to take the Low Road and get off the path less travelled for a change. I want to see if it’s better just thinking about myself in any given moment or arguing until I’m blue in the face even though halfway through I know I’m wrong.

The problem is that sadly, I know that’s not my style. I think if I were to try it, it might turn into one of those times when I try to avoid traffic and take a shortcut and then I realize that either I’m lost or it was even longer and worse than sitting in gridlock. I think I know in my heart of hearts that the High Road is smooth and where peace is, so I think I’ll stick with that for now. It would feel good in that moment, but I’d have to live with the negative repercussions of it.

Having said that, maybe one day when someone’s rude to me after I’ve been polite, I’ll say jump on the Low Road for a block or two, say exactly what’s on my mind (consequences be damned) then continue on my merry way with a smile!

V

I'm participating BlogHer’s NaBloPoMo Challenge: 31 days, 31 blog posts

I’m participating BlogHer’s NaBloPoMo Challenge: 31 days, 31 blog posts

Please leave your $0.02

