Uhhhh….I’m busy…..

The prompt today asks, “Would you rather have one more hour with someone you like, or one fewer hour with someone you can’t stand?”

Hmmmm…I don’t know if I have anything profound to say about this prompt…but I’ll give it a whirl.

Here’s the thing about me: it’s either I like you or I don’t! I wish sometimes that I was able to have indifferent feelings about those I meet or know. Maybe that’s the empath in me – I have the ability to suss out people with military precision. I’ve always felt about myself: when I like you, it’s beautiful – my smile, my warmth, my generosity, my showers of sunshine and rainbows. If I don’t, it’s colder than the dark side of the moon! (I know. I WISH I was kidding.)

I said that to say one hour less with someone I can’t stand wouldn’t really make a difference. I’m sure you understand, especially with the holidays around the corner. The time of year when you are almost forced to spend time with people you try to avoid all year: a co-worker, family member, in-laws, significant other, family friend, neighbour. You tell me that if you had to spend one hour instead of two hours with them, that would be a good thing. Sometimes, 5 minutes is the perfect amount of time to share pleasantries before the well-rehearsed smile starts to fade.

Picture this: annoying neighbour who complains about everything. You literally scan the hall before walking out to avoid a chance encounter. Flash to apartment Christmas mixer, the crowd parts, you see her and because everyone turns the other way and you lose the 2-second window to bolt, she heads straight for you. The first word out of her mouth: “Hey, how are you? Oh my gosh, I hate these mixer things! I’d rather be at home watching the news.” The harm’s already done. An hour? Let alone an hour less? I don’t think so!

I guess I’ll take an hour more with someone I like, please.

V

I'm participating BlogHer’s NaBloPoMo Challenge: 31 days, 31 blog posts

I’m participating BlogHer’s NaBloPoMo Challenge: 31 days, 31 blog posts

Please leave your $0.02

