I don’t know what I don’t know

George Bernard Shaw said, “Beware of false knowledge; it is more dangerous than ignorance.” Do you agree or disagree?

What the heck is “false knowledge”? Georgie boy, what are you talking about exactly? Today is the first day that I have ZERO idea what to write about based on the prompt.

False knowledge sounds circular to me. Let me get this straight: I know something but then I find out it’s not the truth, so now it’s false knowledge? I can’t go back in time and change my decisions based on what I thought to be true, so what’s the point? umm…I don’t get it. 

Since I’m not too sure what this ‘false knowledge’ is about, maybe I can talk about ignorance. (Yes, I know, ironically, I’m deliberately being ignorant about false knowledge.) 

Now ignorance, that I understand. Choosing not to know about certain things. THAT I get. Not reading ingredients on your favourite cheat snack or not looking that closely in the mirror to determine if that dress is too tight or my personal favourite: turning the bedside clock around so you can’t see how close it is to 3 am while trying to finish the last few dozen pages of a book.

Especially in these times, ignorance is not something that has to happen. We, as a people, are the most informed than ever. You can search the internet for almost everything! You never have to say “I don’t know” if you have access to the internet. No longer do you have to wonder about anything. The answer is just a click away.

That being said, I don’t know if I’m a fan of being informed about every little minute detail about everything. I like not knowing some things, if I was honest. I have always liked a little suspense. I’ve been known to go to a show without knowing what it’s about or a party where I don’t know anyone or roaming aimlessly in a new city. You also don’t want to watch me painstakingly open my presents. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not that much of a spontaneous person, but I do like the element of surprise.

On my solo exploratory trip to New York last year, I had researched things quite a bit, but there were some gaping holes of knowledge there. I felt like “It’s New York! You can’t possibly know everything about it, so just do the best you can and see what happens.” In the end, it was perfectly fine. I had a great time and, sure, there were things I probably missed because I didn’t do enough research, but you can’t miss something you didn’t know existed. Sometimes not knowing is when you can really relax and enjoy yourself. There wouldn’t be a saying “Ignorance is bliss” for nothing!

Honestly, that’s all I have to offer you today. I’m having a hard time with this prompt and I could should myself into a conclusion, but I’m going to choose to end it here and save myself the stress and save you from the rambling.

Moral of the story: even if you don’t know what something is, you can write 500 words about it! I guess, George, false knowledge wasn’t that dangerous after all! Ha!

See you tomorrow!

V

I'm participating BlogHer’s NaBloPoMo Challenge: 31 days, 31 blog posts

I’m participating BlogHer’s NaBloPoMo Challenge: 31 days, 31 blog posts

Please leave your $0.02

