More with less?

If you’ve been following my blog, you’ll know that I’m a virtuoso of doing more with less. I’ve been lucky/blessed to have a lot of good things in my life, but there are times when I’ve had to do without. I don’t want to write about more with less today really. <yawn>

I just want to tell you a story.

My closest three girlfriends and I got invited to a passion party by a friend of mine, Z, a few years ago. Two of us have young children so Z’s boyfriend (who is also my friend) kept all the kids at their house while the Mums went wild. Everyone met at my house and I drove to the party. I had a GREAT time, naturally. Who doesn’t like, um, stuff? I even won a prize that I have yet to use. (SIGH!!!!) I didn’t buy anything for myself, but it was lots of fun and the food was fantastic! 

We ended up staying much later than we thought we would, so when we got back to Z’s house, the kids were already asleep. We scooped them up and put them in the car. I remember it as clear as yesterday. I was driving home late at night, and it was raining. The car was full – six of us – and I remember thinking, the ones I love are all in this car and I have to be careful. I drove home so slowly that night, fully aware of the precious cargo I was carrying.

Everyone stayed at my 2-bedroom apartment that night. Close quarters. A and S slept in my bed, the kids slept in Kidlet’s bed, V slept on the couch and I slept in a sleeping bag on the living room floor. The standing joke about that was that for that night, my house became a women’s shelter. There were women and kids everywhere. Kidlet woke up in the middle of the night and stumbled into my bed, but found someone other than me instead! He was dispatched to the living room where he crawled into the sleeping bag with me.

It’s funny how that simple night, where nothing in particular happened, stands out in my memory. It was the first time I felt like here was home. It wasn’t a grand gesture or a big deal, but it’s that feeling that I love these people and they love me and we could all be littered in my apartment and we’d be happy.

Back in Trinidad, I have hundreds of people, family and friends, who know me and care about me, but here, I have close friends who love me and care about me too. The support base isn’t as wide, but it sure is as deep! It’s not about how much you have of anything, it’s about the quality of what you have that counts.

You don’t need to get a lot to feel loved and don’t need to give a lot to feel love. The feeling just comes and stays and settles in and before you know it, you have so much, it fills you up.

V

I'm participating BlogHer’s NaBloPoMo Challenge: 31 days, 31 blog posts

I’m participating BlogHer’s NaBloPoMo Challenge: 31 days, 31 blog posts

Please leave your $0.02

