Get the ball rolling

More than dark chocolate-covered raisins, I would like NOT to write today’s post based on the prompt: “What was the last donation you made?” I donate my time and energy consistently and I don’t like going on and on about it. You’ve already heard about that lots. How about I tell you another story today that might relate tangentially to the prompt?***

Last week, I was my friend’s plus one to my old company’s Christmas dinner. It was so much fun seeing old friends and meeting new people. That company feels like home to me having worked there for years. Apparently, I have a reputation since people who I had never even worked with knew my name.

At the end of the night, one of the women who worked there was leaving the`same time as us. I had not met her before that night. The area the hotel was in was notorious for not having late-night cabs. (We knew that from personal experience.) So I offered to give her a lift somewhere she would be able to get a cab easily. She told me she had heard about me and it was all good things. She had obviously had a few drinks, but wasn’t too bad. We all got in the car and I asked her, “Where do you live?” She said a neighbourhood that was about a 10-minute drive away. “Okay,” I said to her, “I’ll take you home.” She was flabbergasted and offered me $20 to take her home. “What?” I said, “It’s nothing. It’s almost 1 am and it’s 10 minutes away and I’m not taking your money.”

I drove her home. Whether it was the alcohol or that’s her personality – there was no way for me to know for sure – she was effusive with her thanks the whole way there. It was NOT a big deal for me. What put an end to the whole thing was when I told her, “I’ve been blessed with many favours and good fortune in my life and I have no problems passing favours on to people.” A small, but good, deed sometimes is like a loaf of hot bread to a hungry man. (Did I go too far with that simile? Whoops!) It wasn’t a hardship for me and I didn’t think twice to do it.

I did make me sad, though, that a little kindness was so surprising. It made me think that there’s not that much going around in the world that a 10-minute drive could be so overwhelming. I say even if it’s a small thing to you, just do it. You never know how that kindness, released into the world, will manifest itself in the other person or in the world itself.
Maybe after that night, if she is in a situation to do something nice for someone else, she might remember what I did for her and set the ball rolling. I don’t know. I can only hope. The world can only hope.
V
*** I really, really like the word “tangentially”. I like the aristocratic sound of it. But more than that, I like that you have no idea what it means by how it sounds, only by how it looks. (Hey, you already know I’m weird! This admission should not surprise you. )
I'm participating BlogHer’s NaBloPoMo Challenge: 31 days, 31 blog posts

I’m participating BlogHer’s NaBloPoMo Challenge: 31 days, 31 blog posts

Please leave your $0.02

