Try to give without giving

Today’s post is going to be short and sweet.

For this Christmas season, consider focussing on giving and not getting. It doesn’t have to be presents or THINGS. Around this time, it seems like the focus is on things – electronics, clothes, jewellery, shoes. Those things are great, sure! Who doesn’t like new, shiny stuff?! I know I do! (I received a charm bracelet for my birthday and have been actively soliciting for charm money!)

The evidence of it is there though! The mall here is open from 8 am to 11 pm. Is there so much shopping to be done by so many people that the mall has to be available almost 2/3 of the day every day for a week? Whoa! See? I’m not making it up! 

This year, can we try to think of ways to give without giving? Last year, Kidlet spent Christmas with his dad, so I was on my own. Thankfully, a casual acquaintance invited me over for Christmas dinner. I am still so grateful for that invitation. It was really a great Christmas gift despite having received material gifts as well.

This year, I’m paying it forward and having a couple people over for a traditional Trinidadian Christmas lunch/dinner. A friend took her kids to a senior’s centre to visit with the lovely ladies there. Another friend last year took food to a church on Christmas day for those with little to eat.

Can you look me in the eye and tell me that doing those kinds of things will be appreciated less by their recipients than your shopping for hours on end starting at 8 am (!!!) to find something material? (Okay, I acknowledge that you can’t look me in the eye even if you wanted to, but you know what I mean!)

Anyway, I’m just offering another perspective. Me? All I have to get now is food for Christmas dinner. Anyone know where I can find banana leaves in Vancouver?

V

I'm participating BlogHer’s NaBloPoMo Challenge: 31 days, 31 blog posts

I’m participating BlogHer’s NaBloPoMo Challenge: 31 days, 31 blog posts

Please leave your $0.02

