Christmas Eve Eve sprint

My status update on FB this morning:

To-do list for Christmas Eve Eve

1. do 5 loads of laundry
2. (a) find banana leaves
(b) find Promasa cornmeal
(c) research YouTube videos
(d) make a dozen pastelles (first attempt ever)
3. help Santa find fancy, much-coveted Spy Gear for Kidlet on sale somewhere
4. fight with hair
5. dry run of trying to hook up new Wii to avoid embarrassing scene on Wednesday

and then, finally

6. expire from exhaustion

The end.

Kidlet’s birthday was yesterday. The problem with having an end-of-year birthday is that he spends the whole year saying “I want this” so when the time comes, for Christmas AND birthday in the same week, it’s hard to discern what he REALLY wants. I get so stressed about choosing the right thing, I usually get him clothes! (haha…my perfectionism and subsequent paralysis and panic at their finest!)

This year, my friend is giving him her Wii for Christmas, so I don’t have to get a ‘big’ gift for him, but the problem is that Santa still has to get him what he really wants. He really wanted this thing where you can put a mic in one room and listen in the other room (Boys! Ha!), but it’s kinda pricey. Fortunately, Santa has unlimited money, so crisis averted!!

Put that stress on top of how much I have to do for my self-imposed perfect Traditional Trinidadian Christmas celebration! Madness! My menu keeps getting longer and longer….for no reason! (What’s my problem?)

The house is relatively clean, so that’s a load off. I’ve done groceries for the most part – save ‘specialty’ items. Christmas tree is up. Blog post for today is done. I’m in a good place.

Wish me luck!

V

I'm participating BlogHer’s NaBloPoMo Challenge: 31 days, 31 blog posts

I’m participating BlogHer’s NaBloPoMo Challenge: 31 days, 31 blog posts

Please leave your $0.02

