Time to hatch a plan

Today’s prompt is an easy one to write about – I have a lot to say, so stop me if I write too much! The prompt asks “Which do you enjoy more: the last week of the year, or the first week of the year?” I can definitely say it’s the last week of the year.

I’m a planner – always was, probably always will be. I like predictability, I like structure. Now the ironic thing is that I don’t really like to colour within the lines, I just like knowing the lines are there! Ha! I like knowing what I have do, but I don’t always do it. I do know and understand that having a plan or making a plan doesn’t mean that life will follow it, but I just like the security of knowing it’s there.

The last week of the year for me means New Year’s resolutions, the planning, the “I will do better this year!” chants in my head. The last week of the year means cracking open a new weekly planner and writing in the monthly calendar page for January, it’s about thinking of trips that I want to go on with Kidlet or friends. It’s the chance of a new start – adding another dimension to myself. (Why we typically choose to do this at the start of a calendar year, I don’t know. I guess it’s just one of those things.)

This last week for me means looking inward to find out what new goals I will make for myself and my two-person family. Kidlet doesn’t know it yet, but this new year, he will start doing chores around the house. Surprise!!!

Maybe this year, I will be sharing my life with a new (and hopefully lasting) love interest, maybe I will drop a pants size, maybe my hair will let me win one, maybe I’ll finally buy that bike and ride it, maybe I’ll finish my novel, maybe I’ll land the job of my dreams, maybe I’ll win the lotto (if I start playing it regularly), maybe I’ll learn how to knit. That’s what this week is for – thinking about what I’m going to make happen in the coming year. This week is for dreaming, wishing and making a plan so the dreams/wishes will have a chance of coming to pass.

This week, I won’t look back and think of what I’ve lost or the things that could have been better in the year gone, but look ahead to what is yet to happen and THAT can be anything at all! Life has a way of doing its own thing sometimes. I can’t wait to see what’s happens! EEEEEK!

V

I'm participating BlogHer’s NaBloPoMo Challenge: 31 days, 31 blog posts

I’m participating BlogHer’s NaBloPoMo Challenge: 31 days, 31 blog posts

Please leave your $0.02

