An inspiration? Maybe..

I want to inspire people.

I want someone to look at me and say,

“Because of you, I didn’t give up.”

I don’t want to be a role model (though sometimes I am), but I seek to be an inspiration to others whether directly or inadvertently.

I think I’m just living my life the best way I know how and if others are inspired by that – if others learn from my struggles or find solace or solidarity in it – then so be it!

You never really know your impact on someone else, good or bad. You never know when your words or your smile helps someone get through a bad day. This reminds me about my phone guy story.

Last weekend, the guy came to install my landline phone. I was caught completely unawares by his visit – usually, I would take the 3 minutes it takes guests to get from the front door of my apartment building to my apartment to look presentable (read: get dressed), but he had a key for the building and just appeared at my door. Yikes!

He was polite and didn’t seem horrified by my mismatched pyjamas/head tie combo or the Kidlet-ravaged living room. He did his thing and made the obligatory chitchat – not too much, not too little. Anyway, he was getting ready to leave and I asked him what the phone number was of the phone he had just so professionally installed. He had no idea! Um…okay. He said he would look into it and let me know and left.

Minutes later, I got a message from him saying that he was sorry he didn’t know what my new number was but would get it to me as soon as he could. I told him not to worry about it. It’s easy enough to call the company myself, which I did right away and got it sorted within five minutes. I sent him a message to let him know I had taken care of it and to have a great day. My message exactly:

“Done and done. Have a great Sunday. :)”

His message back to me:

“Wow. Thanks. It’s been a rough day and I hope I didn’t show it, but you just made me smile. Thanks. You have a great pyjama day as well.”

V

Funny p.s. Soon after he left, I realized that I had been wearing Kidlet’s 3D glasses with the lenses punched out the whole time. *groan* Why did I put that on to begin with anyway? Sigh.

2 thoughts on “An inspiration? Maybe..

Please leave your $0.02

