My reward

[Photo taken by Vikera Hunte. Do not copy without permission.]

[Photo taken by Vikera Hunte. Do not copy without permission.]

On my trip to Tobago last summer, Kidlet and I lazed on the beach for half a day. I was surprised at how many people were on the beach in the middle of the week. It was mostly older, maybe retired people just sitting near the water, the wind softly blowing and the waves gently going back and forth. By the way they acknowledged each other, it seemed like it was a routine thing for most of them and I felt a little intrusive.

These wrinkled, slow-moving bodies dressed in bathing suits, got in the water or sat on the shore. They chatted, they laughed, they slept, they stood in the water allowing the waves to move them up and down over their bodies.

It was so peaceful, so calming. I thought, “This is what life should be like after you bust your hump every day going to work, raising children and saving money.” They seemed pretty content to just relax and it made me relax too. Even though I had been on vacation for a couple of weeks, sitting there was where I felt most calm.

The man in the picture came from somewhere in the ocean. While I was taking pictures of the ocean, this person made its way into my frame. I would never know where he came from. His skin was worn and very tanned, suggesting a lot of his life had been lived outdoors. He chatted with me for a bit having picked me out as “a stranger”. He said he swam X kilometres every day and knew where all the dangerous parts were. When he found out I was Canadian, he told me that he had been to North America once a long time ago. I remember thinking, “Why the heck would you go there and you could stay here?” but I suppose he could ask me the same thing. Heck, I asked myself the same thing! 

When I look at this picture, I think about a simpler life, an easy life, a rested life after putting in time and effort and energy, day after day. Maybe this will be my reward.

V

Please leave your $0.02

