In my dreams

My Mummy [Photo taken by Vikera Hunte. Do not copy without permission.]

My Mummy
[Photo taken by Vikera Hunte. Do not copy without permission.]

I need to start by saying, I never thought I would be strong enough to share a picture of my Mum, but I’m getting stronger every day. The good days are good and the bad days aren’t as bad.

How about I share some poetry today? I haven’t done that in a while. It’s not obtuse and scary, I promise.

I have trouble sleeping, as you know, so when I do sleep AND dream, it’s always a mishmash of thoughts. One night, I dreamt about my Mum, who passed on almost 5 years ago, which is INCREDIBLE to believe! I remember waking up and being so grateful I had that dream because I got to see her again. That dream was the inspiration for this poem.

I’m not sad today, I’m okay. I just wanted to share this, that’s all!

Happy Monday!

V

*******

In my dreams

You visit me in my dreams.

Only for a little while,

I see you again.

I missed your face, Mummy.

Time has gone by.

Time, it marches on.

Even though the hole

In my toughened heart

Is as big as the Bermuda Triangle,

My feelings confused and lost.

I drift along.

In my dreams,

You are happy.

I am happy to see you.

You look well.

I hear your laughter.

You see my sadness.

I missed your face, Mummy.

2 thoughts on “In my dreams

  1. anna Lainer says:

    Oh Vikera I am reading this poem while sitting at my desk at work, and I start crying. That is so touching and beautiful. And I so can relate to it. Thank you for sharing this poem. Have a great day Love

    Anna Kongyuy-Lainer Board Chair Baobab Inc.Empowerment Society http://www.baobabinclusive.ca

Please leave your $0.02

