In the meantime….

So having said this and feeling pretty good about accepting my body as is, I think I want to join the gym.

I know, I know…let me explain….

I have a lot of time on my hands. I have only a few hobbies: this blog being the main one followed by singing in the shower and then a distant amateur photography. More and more I find myself being bored. I don’t watch a lot of TV and my mind has not been settled enough to read. Pretty soon, Kidlet is going to be spending more time with his dad, so that leaves me with even MORE time to sit around and do lots of nothing – leaving my mind in a very fertile place to sprout all kinds of thoughts that I will probably not be able to manage. Sigh. I also noticed that the loneliness has started creeping up and I can’t let that get a hold of me.

So what are my choices? Friends work full time, so not a lot of play time during the week. I can only write so much. Also, with the writing, I find the more I write, the more my mind comes up with things to write about. Double sigh.

What can I commit to that can be flexible with my schedule and will tire me out so that when I get home all I need to do is eat, shower and sleep? Aha! The gym! I’d be around people, I’d get out of the house, use up some of my energy and enjoy some much needed endorphins! I don’t really have a goal of weight loss or anything, that’s not the point here. The point is to be engaged and be used up.

I’ve been part of a gym before. I went after work a couple times a week with a friend of mine. We went for a quick workout and then stayed for the Zumba classes. We did that for a couple of months and those were good times! At another point, I did a few drop-in kickboxing classes. Now those were a lot of fun. Sure, a few times I thought I would collapse, but I managed to make it through each hour. Both of these experiences were memorable as being refreshing.

I feel like this could be the start of something good – try something new. Maybe if I’m more active, I’ll increase my stamina and endurance and be able to do some outdoor activities when the weather gets a bit better. Maybe I’ll meet a guy at the gym – obviously, that was part of the decision-making! Maybe I’ll tone up my body. Maybe I’ll make friends, who will introduce me to some other activity I can participate in. Maybe I’ll just make friends. I don’t know. Maybe I’ll join and then cancel my membership in the first month. Who knows? I have to try something and for $14.99 a month with no contract, why not that?

I just know that things are not the way I would like them to be and I have to figure out a way to make it better. I’ll try this and see how it goes. Even a tiptoe is 5 inches from where I was standing before.

And people thought the gym is just for losing weight or gaining muscle….

One thought on “In the meantime….

Please leave your $0.02

