Things I like – John Legend and his music

[Photo taken by Vikera Hunte. Do not copy without permission.]

[Photo taken by Vikera Hunte. Do not copy without permission.]

I’ve always liked John Legend. Always. From the very beginning. There is a sincerity about him that I respect. He can play the piano, he can sing and he had crooked teeth. Him being famous with crooked teeth was important to me. For a long time, he didn’t care to fix it. He accepted himself the way he was and lets us know it’s not that important and it’s not what he’s about. As with everything in Hollywood though, he succumbed to the pressure and got straight “teefs”. I was a little disappointed, but I guess if you marry a supermodel, you have to tart yourself up some, I suppose. Anywho…

His words soothe my heart. He sings a lot about love, not because his voice is perfectly suited for melodic declarations of love, but because it’s something he feels. When he touches the piano keys and closes his eyes, you can tell he’s in a moment. He’s not overly sexy, playing it up for the ladies, but because he’s drunk the love kool-aid too and wants to sing about it and can express himself better than most.

[Photo taken by Vikera Hunte. Do not copy without permission.]

From the onset of his fame, he has handled himself and his craft with respect. I had the benefit of seeing him perform twice. Once, he opened up for Sade, which I personally felt was beneath him, BUT I get it -it’s Sade! Duh! The second time, I went to see him at a smaller venue. I sprung for mid-price tickets and I went alone. I wanted to go alone. I wanted to sit there and absorb his music through my pores. I knew I would be moved to tears and would rather have no witnesses. I was in row 15, so I was pretty close to the stage. In retrospect, it would have been worth it to spend the extra $50 to sit in the front row. It also didn’t help that he came into the audience and stood on a seat in row 5 and sang half a song. Oh to be in row 6! Thanks to Betsy, though, I was able to get some great shots to capture the magic.

[Photo taken by Vikera Hunte. Do not copy without permission.]

I’ve pulled some videos from the internet to provide a good representation of his music. The first one is powerful, with him at the piano, his voice and his fingers doing all the work to entertain the audience. No fancy footwork, backup dancers, pyrotechnics or any of that stuff – just the music. Ignore the wet blanket audience – I just don’t get how they can just sit passively while their senses are being treated to such a great piece of music. You can see how hard he works here and how into the music he is.

If you want to hear how smooth his voice is, without the whole band and back up singers, listen to a classic – a man, his voice and his piano.

You may not love his music as much as I do, but maybe you will. He has a newer CD out now, which the second concert promoted, but I’m partial to his older stuff.

Hey, I like what I like!

V

ps. The position of the arrow in the picture on the left here is unfortunate and completely unintentional! teehee…

4 thoughts on “Things I like – John Legend and his music

  1. Vikki I loved this. Not just cuz I love John Legend for pretty much the reasons you mentioned but the wanting to have the concert experience alone just to soak up everything. There is something kinda priceless about that feeling.

Please leave your $0.02

