Heat(!!!) and drama at the 18th hole

Happy Tuesday!

The heat

It’s summer here in Vancouver. For the past couple of weeks, we’ve been experiencing tropical heat and I know tropical heat! Even though, I was born and raised in the Caribbean and have lived there most of my life, I think I’ve acclimatized to the temperate weather. For this summer so far, I’ve had two bouts of mild heat stroke. WHAT? How could I have lived in this kind of weather year round for years, yet now, after two months, I’m ready for the ER?

Nevertheless, the summer has been going well. I’ve been keeping myself busy, but not necessarily active though. A friend has commanded that I change my own bike tyre, however, the internet does not exactly explain how to get that tricky tube back inside the tyre. Meh. I couldn’t fathom chuffing away in this weather anyway. I have about 6 weeks to figure it out – sorry JF!

<Can you tell how unmotivated I am? It’s the heat!>

Regardless of the heat, I managed to have some fun. Wee Kidlet and I went away this weekend. We spent quality time together, stayed at a funky hotel and I wore my fab two-piece swimsuit confidently! It was a good time.

I wanted to share one of my favourite pics of the weekend.

The drama

Walking through the car park when we were leaving the lake, a flyer for golf was thrust into my hand by a teenager. I didn’t think anything of it, but later on in the day, Kidlet wanted to check it out. His vacation, his choice, so we went. While I was paying and getting set up at the club house, I heard a squeal. I looked out the door at Kidlet. There was a Mama Duck and about a dozen ducklings sauntering into the club house. It turns out, the owners feed them and so they consider themselves very entitled co-owners of the property. Unfortunately, though, the 18th hole is kinda like their living room. 

Some golfers had been playing for an hour and finally made it to the last hole only to find it overrun with fowl! Super cute fowl! There was a lot of “Excuse me, buddy” “Careful!” and a lot of waiting around for them to waddle out of the way.

Cutest thing ever! 🙂 Hope it makes you giggle, like I did! 

V

[Photo taken by Vikera Hunte. Do not copy without permission.]

[Photo taken by Vikera Hunte. Do not copy without permission.]

[Photo taken by Vikera Hunte. Do not copy without permission.]

[Photo taken by Vikera Hunte. Do not copy without permission.]

Please leave your $0.02

