Accomplishment roundup

Let me start by saying that I apologize: it’s been more than two weeks since I posted. No, I hadn’t been abducted by aliens and am just getting used to being back on Earth nor have I found love and have been shacked up making up for lost time. I haven’t been writing because I’ve been preoccupied.

Since I last wrote, a few things have happened:

In the Romance department

I went to a singles mixer. Well, that was kinda different and fun. There was no age restriction, so there was a range of 25 to 65. It was a classy event and I felt comfortable. The only problem was that there was no one there I was interested in. The best part of the night for me was the pesto wrap we had for dinner – sad, but true. Don’t get me wrong, there were nice guys there, just none that peaked my interest. It was a great experience though and the music was REALLY good. That’s my biggest effort lately to find a partner. I’m tryin’, I’m tryin’!

In the Personal Development department

I took a kizomba workshop. Kizomba is a dance that I do so enjoy. I started dancing it a couple years ago. I took a class, loved it, mostly because I was a natural, and never looked back since! I wish I could get someone to record me doing it…dancing, that is. You know, I am really happy that I’m able to learn new things. Actually, I’m even happier that I WANT to learn new things! Taking a workshop, practising, making mistakes in front of strangers is not easy and I’m glad that I’m still want to do it. The feeling of accomplishment after learning a new move is reward enough!

Kizomba looks like this:

In the Social Life department

I had a high school friend come from out East to visit us for a few days. Now THAT was fun. I opened our home to her. She is the first visitor I’ve had who knew the me from Trinidad. Sure, I felt a little self-conscious, but you know what? The pride I feel for what I am able to provide outweighed any insecurity that I had. At first, I was worried about tacit judgement, but then I thought, “What do I have to be ashamed about? I live an honest life and I’m providing a roof over our heads and we’re happy, so what?” We took her around and had some adventures, showcasing our beautiful city. Funny, while we were talking, we realized that we actually didn’t really hang out in high school! Ha! Oh well! What’s important is that we hung out now….20 years later. 🙂

In the Mummy department

There’s a teachers’ strike here in BC. School is yet to open for the new year. Kidlet’s been in daycare. He’s having the time of his life. I’m having a nervous breakdown worrying about his education and how hard it’s going to be once he starts the school routine again after being off school for almost a quarter of a year! Yikes!

In the Sister department

My baby brother has just been informed he’s finished his Bachelor’s degree! There was a delay between him knowing he had all his credits and the university confirming he had all his credits – longest two weeks in our lives. Phew! Now, it’s celebration time!

In the Celebration department

But perhaps the biggest thing that’s happened and has been the most distracting is the fact that I got a new car last week. Yes, it’s true! My old car, while well loved, has reached the end of its time with our family. I was really preoccupied with what having a car payment would mean, so I spent a lot of time crunching the numbers, looking at my finances. In the end, I figured out what I could afford and walked into a dealership with my bottom line. A few short days later:

[Photo taken by Vikera Hunte. Do not copy without permission.]

[Photo taken by Vikera Hunte. Do not copy without permission.]

That feeling of being able to get not only what you want, but what you NEED is incredible! It’s so exciting! Even after doing my financial analysis, I still can’t believe I can afford a new car! hahaha…over this past week, I’ve stopped mid-sentence and thought, “Can I afford a new car?” then I have to soothe myself with a “Yes, you can because you’re awesome!”

In the Blog department

Over the next few days, I’ll be starting a series about financial tips that I’ve used to gain fiscal health. Now, don’t get me wrong, I’m not rich, but I’m not poor either! I’ve been able to accomplish great things by being smart with money and being aware of my financial situation at all times. All the while, out enjoying my life.

So I haven’t been sitting around being fed grapes and lounging on the beach, I’ve been busy!  Stay tuned…more to come!

Please leave your $0.02

