Virtual Blog Tour – a short trip in the Mind Maze

I was nominated to do this challenge a few weeks ago by the blogger behind Vernette Out Loud. This fab Trinidadian blogger was the one who actually inspired me to start blogging almost a year ago. She nominated me for this Blog Tour a few weeks ago and I had to accept! Thank you for thinking of me, V! I have been looking forward to this post since the nomination, so here goes!

The Challenge

1. Compose a one-time post which is posted on Monday (date will be given to you from whoever passes on the tour).

2. Answer these four questions about your creative process which lets other bloggers and visitors know what inspires you to do what you do:

  • What am I working on?
  • How does my work differ from others of its genre?
  • Why do I write/create what I do?
  • How does your writing/creating process work?

1. What am I working on?

I’m not really working on anything specifically. I made a commitment to this blog and while it’s not always regular, it’s funny and thoughtful when I do post. It feeds that creative need that gets dampened by life sometimes. I don’t really have a vision for the Mind Maze. It continues to be a work in progress, each post a stroke on the canvas.

2. How does my work differ from others of its genre?

I will admit, I don’t read nearly as many other blogs as I should. As a result, I cannot make a comparison between my blog and others. I think there are a lot of bloggers out there, sharing their passions and fears and hopes and dreams, writing because they need to. If that’s a genre, then that’s the one I’m in. I am no different.

3. Why do I write/create?

I write because I have a gift. I write because I can’t speak all the thoughts in my mind – besides, who will listen to them all? Instead, I choose to speak some of them and then string together words, sentences, paragraphs with the rest and send them into the world. Honestly, this blog helps me unravel thoughts. The words and ideas swim around in my head, but when I write, I have to be coherent and streamlined, so it helps the thoughts form and out comes a blog post.

4. How does my writing/creative process work?

Okay, this is where things get tricky. Since I don’t really have a genre or theme per se, I just write about what I feel. I struggle every time with the boundaries between honesty and oversharing. It can take me 45 minutes to mull and decided how much is too much. There are times when things happen and I want to blog about it, but I wonder if it’s too much to share. It’s extremely challenging to edit so much of my life when I’m an open book. If you asked me to my face, I’d probably tell you everything, but with a blog, you have to censor.

Another thing is that I sometimes feel like my blog has no focus. Having said that, I know that a real person is messy and not always compartmentalized. There are many facets to any one person, so while today, I might post a poem, tomorrow I might want to share something that hurt me and then another day, I will be moved to write about the man I’m waiting to fall in love with one day. Other days, a picture of the sun will be all that I want to share. It’s what moves me. If I’m not moved by an emotion: happiness, hope, determination, goodwill, anger, frustration, whatever it is, I don’t post. Plain and simple.

******

Thus ends the tour. Thank you for taking this journey with me. 🙂

V

2 thoughts on “Virtual Blog Tour – a short trip in the Mind Maze

Please leave your $0.02

