Calm the f*** down!

Yesterday I was what someone I knew considered to be ‘freaking out’ about something and he just said to me ever so calmly, “Why don’t you just calm the f*** down?” The words arrested me. They stopped me in my tracks. After that bucket of cold water had washed over my anxiety, I said to him, “Thanks! I needed to hear that!” Okay, so it’s not commonplace for me to be talked to like that but I certainly wasn’t offended by any means. I think there are times when we let our thoughts take hold and begin a whirlwind and we need to hear, “STOP!”

Any time I think about thoughts going too far, I ALWAYS think about the Las Vegas experience. It happened years ago, but I still think about that as an example of me needing to calm the f*** down!

A guy I was seeing for a few months had a trip planned to Vegas with his best friend. I’ve never been an insecure girlfriend/wife, so I didn’t really mind. I wished him a good time and off he went to Sin City for four days, I think it was.  I got texts from him the morning of, on the way to the airport, while he was waiting to board and a couple when he got there. Then I got nothing! I didn’t think much of it. I’ll be the first to talk about roaming charges, so I thought he was being smart. Then the second day passed. Still nothing. I had texted him, but got nothing in return. Then ensued the worrying. “Did he get there? Is he okay? Did he meet someone else? Why hadn’t I heard from him?” I slowly started working myself up. I’m not going to lie to you. I called his hotel in Vegas. Oh yes, I did. Turns out, the hotel had never heard of him OR his best friend. Then I really started to freak out. I started questioning if he really did go to Vegas and if not, where the heck was he?

Day Three: nothing.

On the fourth day, I get a message from him on Facebook. “Hi babe, I lost my phone in Vegas. Call my work. I don’t know how to get a hold of you.” Turns out, he lost his phone on the first day – first day Vegas shenanigans, of course. The room was in his friend’s friend’s name – they had gotten some deal or something, which, of course I didn’t know. Also, nobody knows anyone’s phone number by heart anyway, so how else would he have gotten a hold of me except through Facebook?! All I remember was thinking at the time, “That makes sense. Duh!” Compounded with the fact that I have NEVER had any trust issues AT ALL where he was concerned, so it wasn’t even rational. After talking with him and him stressing out about having to get a new phone, I realized I was long overdue for a “Why don’t you just calm the f*** down?” I just couldn’t let my mind run away with itself. Geez!

If you remember my banana bread story, you’ll know I have anxiety issues, so when I’m told to smarten up, it helps me put things in perspective. I need more of that in my life.

3 thoughts on “Calm the f*** down!

  1. Kallima says:

    I would be freaking out…I’m anal about wanting people to let me know they reach their destination. Why right now I’m texting my sis so she knows I’m alive cause if you didn’t hear from me for two days and ent look for me I will haunt you for the rest of your life LOL

Please leave your $0.02

