Betsy’s baaaack!

Hello boys and girls!

I’m hoping that this finds you well. I went a friend’s house for New Year’s Eve and left my good ole Betsy over there (for recent followers: Betsy is my trusty camera). I picked it up last weekend and took shots again like I used to last year. I forgot the joy of capturing moments and playing with light and shadows and trying to convey an emotion felt one moment in time.

Since I got Betsy back, I’ve been busy.

I went for a Family Day hike with my family to Golden Ears Provincial Park in Maple Ridge. It was an overcast day and it rained the ENTIRE time we were there, but it was fun and interesting. This is the scene from part of the hike. Man, it was majestic! Meanwhile, my hiking partner exclaimed, “Wouldn’t it be cool to see a bear…over there..on the other side of the bank?” Hmmm….since bears can swim, my answer was an emphatic,  “No!”

Photo taken by Vikera Hunte. Please do not copy without consent.

Then we continued walking in the forest, covered by the evergreen trees. We came across a couple skinny dippers – pre-skinny dipping – no pictures to follow! Ha! As we continued, closer to the waterfall, there was a pronounced increase in strength of the water rushing down. It was hypnotic and for me, it was very soothing.

IMG_2340

As we stood there watching the water gush down, I looked at what was underneath. Those rocks that get pounded every minute of every day and they just lay there, taking the beating day after day….trees, though, are sometimes not as resilient. But Nature is brutal to all and only the strong survive, I suppose.

Photo taken by Vikera Hunte. Please do not copy without consent.

After that walk in nature, I continued along my week, putting in quality time at the office, meeting with friends, living my life. Then came this weekend: the auspicious Valentine’s weekend! Ooh la la….um, whatever!

Love was definitely in the air though….

Photo taken by Vikera Hunte. Please do not copy without consent.

Don’t get carried away…this wasn’t my car. It was the scene at a Tim Horton’s car park on Valentine’s Day. When I saw it, I exclaimed, “Somebody’s car got Valentined!” Ah….the big romantic gesture! My day will come again soon….

Then that leaves us with yesterday: Sunday.

It was a nice sunny 12 degrees C (53 degrees F) today. Kidlet and I enjoyed a game of muddy mini golf. Since that one time last year in Cultus Lake, he fancies himself a pro. It was good fun since I actually hit the ball a few times. Yay! I think after my performance today, I’ll be ready for the big rematch this summer. I’m not messing around.

IMG_2499IMG_2497

As if that wasn’t enough, we hung around the park, and Kidlet very nonchalantly asked to join some children playing football (soccer) and so I walked laps for about 45 minutes around the race track while he enjoyed the fresh air and the camaraderie. I’m not going to lie, walking around, people watching and getting some exercise and fresh air in my lungs in the brilliant sunshine was a welcome break from the non-stop rain we’ve been having here on the West Coast. I even felt inspired to maybe buy some running shoes and make it a couple-times-a-week thing, but that moment passed as soon as I got to the car. (Whoops!)

While I was waiting for the tied football game to end, I also took some selfies and fooled around with the camera…you know…for science. 😉

IMG_2515IMG_2530IMG_2523

All in all, it’s been a good week. I’m glad to have Betsy back and we’ll see what other adventures we can document in the next few months as the season changes.

I want to take this opportunity to say a big “Hang in there!” to my East Coast friends and family and all those tormented by the white stuff. I know this winter has been particularly harrowing, but remember those warm summer months are just around the corner. It’s always darkest before the dawn and that sun will be coming before you know it! Sending you warm thoughts!

IMG_2482

Have a great week ahead, my friends!

V

All photos in this post were taken by Vikera Hunte. Please do not copy without permission.

Please leave your $0.02

