Life: the spoils of war

Good morning!

Just a quickie today.

In the diary that I kept while I was taking a creative writing course a couple years ago, I stumbled upon a poem that yelled at me from the page. If I listened carefully, I can hear trumpets and a shout spurring me to action. This poem came from my insides – from a place that I had just discovered. In it, I hear my voice full of pain, but also full of triumph and pride.

They come.
They take.
They push.

But now,
I push back.
I shove back.

“IT’S MY LIFE!”

Earned
Fought for
Almost died for
My real self nearly lost forever.

Now

I will enjoy the spoils of the war.

Live your life, have fun, enjoy being who you are, enjoy being the self you’re fighting or you fought to be.

Have a good week, my friends!

Vikera ❤

One thought on “Life: the spoils of war

Please leave your $0.02

